I can not decide what in Korea is more beautiful: cherry blossoms in spring or the annual Lotus Lantern Parade in Seoul. I love this parade. (And I’m not using the “L” word lightly here.) The lanterns and the floats are beautiful. It’s hard for me to describe how much so; I would use the word ‘luminous’, but only with offering a wink at the same time. The beauty of seeing over 100,000 lanterns is not the only reason to fall in love with this parade, though. Of course, there is the novelty of it. A parade like this is an unusual event for someone who grew up in the United States. I like the pace of it, too. It is a near constant, meandering stroll of thousands of people in colorful clothes walking by with lanterns. It is a people watchers dream. There is some music, but more than the music I love the chanting as different groups of monks walk past.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Charles Steez, a graduate from the University of Michigan with a degree in mulicultural  studies. I decided to travel the world before I settled down with a job, and on the way I fell in love with Buddhism.

    Archives

    January 2013

    Categories

    All